Sunday, 24 March 2013

Spur Awards

The Western Writers of America have announced their Spur Award winners and those that apply to fiction are:

Jory Sherman is honored the Owen Wister Award for Lifetime Achievement.

Best Western Short Novel was awarded to Matthew Mayo for Tucker's Reckoning.
Runners up were Lonesome Animals by Bruce Holbert and City of Rocks by Michael Zimmer.

Best Western Long Novel was awarded to Thomas Cobb for With Blood in their Eyes.
Runners up were The Orchardist by Amanda Coplin and Country of the Bad Wolfes by James Carlos Blake.

Best Original Mass Market Paperback was awarded to Larry Sweazy for The Coyote Tracker.
Runners up were Redemption: Hunters by James Reasoner and The Secret of Lodestar by Tim Champlin.


Best First Novel was awarded to Brett Cogburn for Panhandle.
Runners up were Wide Open by Larry Bjornson and The Orchardist by Amanda Coplin.


A full list of all categorys and winners can be found here.


David Cranmer said...

Congrats to all but especially my buddy Matthew P. Mayo. I knew you when...

Troy D. Smith said...

My congrats to all, as well.